sayo's blog

Assignment 1-2

Posted in Assignments by Sayo on January 14, 2009

Q:  Why did I choose to take HUIN105?

A: In HUIN105 it might be more exciting for me to try something creative.  Last semester I had no positive results only to fail showing what I did during studying at the UiB, which caused me an identical crisis crtitically. The tasks in this course should demand me of higher computer skills than I have actually, but I thought it should be well worth trying once in order to achieve knowledge about web design and information technology aesthetics for my future career as a creative designer.

I remember the name of the first programmer, Ada Lovelace, when the name was mentioned in the lecture. As long as my memory is correct, I found her name in a Japanese SF magazine, in which featured a SF movie that Tilda Swinton plays as A. Lovelace. At that time, probably I was 20 or 21 yrs old, I was only interested in female SF writers who might focus on a somewhat feminism perspective. I didn’t actually undetstand what A. Lovelace technologically invented for the comuputers. Instead I only considered whether she could have spent her fleeting life happily or what people can do during the short life-time or something like that.

Leave a comment